What's the current shizzle?? Previous Next
The Cast of Characters
101 Things
Leave a note :-)
All the old stuff
D-Land profile
Our gracious host
Waterfire Festival 2008-09-16
12:54 p.m.

____________________

Thirty-something. Mother. Single by choice. Native American/white. Short. Slender-to-average build. Very long, reddish-brown hair. Green eyes. Responsible. Comical. Sympathetic. Honest. Singer. Two cats. One tattoo, more needed. Employed full time, but also cheating with a second job. Prone to moments of extreme stupidity. Scared of spiders, heights and commitment. Addicted to foreign films, thai food, teas and crunchy salty snacky things.

____________________

I NEED FEATHERS!!
If you happen to come across some Bluejay, Cardinal or other colorful bird feathers please send me an email as I need them desperately! If you happen to be in South Americn I'd love to get some Condor feathers if possible (I don't know how hard they are to come by). You will have my undying gratitude and all feathers will be used in a respectful way. Hey.. I'ts an Indian thing! :-)

____________________

While I did not have to work over the weekend I did decide to go see the guys' performance at the Waterfire Festival. I had always wanted to check this festival out but always backed out at the last minute due to laziness. This time I dragged my son (kicking and crying from his Xbox) along with me. As we were entering the city and looking for the stage where the guys were playing I was cut off by some doofus on his motorcycle. Moments later I hear crashing and see brake lights. The idiot on the motorcycle got hit while trying to pass the car in front of me on the right, you know, between the moving traffic and the parked cars! I stopped the car and got out to make sure things were okay, my son panicked and locked the car doors not knowing how to handle the situation. At first the idiot just laid on the ground but then he shook off the shock and shuffled to his feet. His eyes were HUGE and he was white as a ghost. He appeared to be okay, although visibly shaken, and the guy who had knocked into him was out of the car talking to him. From behind me I hear some guy call out "Hey *idiot*, you okay?". I asked this other motorcycle dude if the guy is his friend and he says yes. I tell him that the guy had just cut me off and was driving like an ass and that he is totally at fault for the accident. The guy makes some kind of comment about his friend being stupid and laughs. Nice. Maybe they had been drinking or something, but neither seemed to be that upset. I think the driver of the other car and myself (and my son) were more upset. Once things seemed to be under control I went about my business. I hate people who drive motorcycles and think they don't have to follow the rules of the road. Just because you "can" zig-zag in and out of traffic because your vehicle is small doesn't mean you should.

We did finally find the stage and meet up with everyone. We were a bit early so my son and I walked around checking out the sights. There was some guy doing a high wire fire walk and then later he was using poi balls that were on fire. He was pretty cool.


Dancing with the poi balls

A magician that was making origami birds was also nearby but my son and I weren't impressed so we moved on. Walking along the river looking at the fires reflecting on the water was very calming. I wanted to sit and gaze at them for a while but my son was being a butthead. :-( He didn't even want to get some yummy and fattening festival food to munch on!



I love how there are little wisps of flame coming up from the fires. It makes me feel like they are alive.



Back at the stage the guys (and girls) were gearing up for their performance. Before they performed there were a variety of other groups that performed first. I was mesmerized by the colors and dazzling sparkle of the outfits. The music for the most part was folkloric and I was rapt with it all.


Beautiful and elegant!



This group from Bolivia had some HOT guys!



The girls were cute too



A Peruvian couple performing a courtship dance



They were older, but very energetic



I think he lassoed her and kept her as his woman!



This is my beautiful friend Ana



Ana, dancing and spinning



Waiting for this group to play, I was bored...



Finally, they started to play



!nt! took this pic of the guy's backside. I dunno why.



Then he took my pic. Why must I make that cheezy face?



!nt!'s drum kit



This is really what I was waiting for. The scissors dance! This dancer 'plays' a pair of blunted scissors while he dances and performs various stunts. It is very cool to watch. I did take a video of the dance, but of course it is 25Mb so I can't upload it here.



I realize this picture is almost exactly like the one above, but I had to post it too because of the strange alien-like image on the right of the picture. See it? Glowing silver eyes and metallic lips?? Space beings are invading and they're trying to blend in at local festivals!!!



Evil aliens!!! Oh wait. It's just a guy with a camera. LOL!

After my son and I arrived home around midnight I made chicken parmesan and we watched some pointless sitcoms. While he wasn't overly happy to have gone to the festival, I was glad to have him along. We are buddies and I'm happy with that. I love my kid!!


_______________________________________________


NPR


Full


Warmth