What's the current shizzle?? Previous Next
The Cast of Characters
101 Things
Leave a note :-)
All the old stuff
D-Land profile
Our gracious host
Throat singing! 2008-12-18
3:18 p.m.

____________________

Thirty-something. Mother. Single by choice. Native American/white. Short. Slender-to-average build. Very long, reddish-brown hair. Green eyes. Responsible. Comical. Sympathetic. Honest. Singer. Two cats. One tattoo, more needed. Employed full time, but also cheating with a second job. Prone to moments of extreme stupidity. Scared of spiders, heights and commitment. Addicted to foreign films, thai food, teas and crunchy salty snacky things.

____________________

I NEED FEATHERS!!
If you happen to come across some Bluejay, Cardinal or other colorful bird feathers please send me an email as I need them desperately! If you happen to be in South Americn I'd love to get some Condor feathers if possible (I don't know how hard they are to come by). You will have my undying gratitude and all feathers will be used in a respectful way. Hey.. I'ts an Indian thing! :-)

____________________

I've been so busy, working at work, working with Toe, getting a second (third??) job at Walmart. I haven't been reading any of my fave journals or playing internet games either! I did some speed shopping last night and in under an hour I got the remainder of my son's presents and a few things for my cousin's children. Damn, I am GOOD!!! And I just finally put up the Christmas tree last night, which I wouldn't have done at all if it weren't for my son. The tree is vertical and there are lights on it, now it is my son's job to put the ornaments on.

Just got a call from the Evil Empire... I start Saturday at 9am. I'm kind of happy about that, and yet kind of not looking forward to it. But, when ya gotta pay the bills ya gotta put your nose to the grind!

The past two weekends working with Toe has been fun, as always. Last Friday he calls me at 6pm and asks if I can be there for 8pm. 8pm that night! Considering I was at the salon getting a broken nail fixed, and I hadn't packed my suitcase or eaten or anything yet, and it takes me two hours to get there... I didn't think I would make it for 8pm. I made it for 8:15! Again, I'll say it... Damn, I am good!! LOL!

It was only him and I unloading all the crafts/textiles *and* all the music equipment/instruments. He brings the sound system used by this particular event too so we had lots of heavy stuff to bring in. We set up our area only a little and decided to finish in the morning.

My arms were so sore when I woke up the next morning. It felt like I had achy, spaghetti arms!! Breaking down on Sunday wasn't nearly as bad because Michel and Tup@c were there to help. -Michel is a new guy who is the stand-in guitarist while everyone else is in Ecuador. He's really cool and sweet. He bought me coffee. WOOT!

When I looked on the performance schedule I saw that there were going to be Tuvan throat singers. THROAT SINGERS! How freaking awesome! I immediately told Roberto he would have to give me a break for a little while so I could watch the performance. I had seen throat singing from the Native Inuit people from Alaska, so I figured this would be similar.

Oh my God! This was so much better than I had anticipated. It was not two people playing some kind of fun competition game of singing, this was four people harmonizing with singing and/or throat singing. The throat singing I had heard previously was nothing like this. What these guys did, this unique kind of over-toning, was unbelievable. Roberto was working the sound and after the show I asked if there was any recorded music behind their singing because I couldn't believe the sounds actually came from the guys. Sometimes when they sang you would hear a deeper tone but then there would also be a higher, synthesized tone - almost like a whistle - that was there at the same time. Both tones came from the same man simultaneously! Even now when I listen to their CD, which I have listened to constantly since it went into my car's CD player, I still can't believe it isn't some kind of special effect.

I was such a dork. I bought their CD and then asked them to sign it. I'm a groupie!!! :-P

Check out their website and listen to their clips: Alash Ensemble

I took a few videos and some pictures. Maybe I'll post one of the videos later, but here are a few pics:

I was trying to get a decent picture of the igil that he was playing.

Here is Bady again, this time singing with his guitar.

Ayan with the drum (kengirge)

Nachyn tuning the byzaanchy.

He wonders why I am taking pics now when they're not playing.

Ayan-ool plays the doshpuluur.

My favorite song on their CD is called Oitulaash Xeveri. It is quite an epic song. I have no idea what the song is truly about, what the words are saying, but when I listen to it it makes me think of someone expressing their love for one's homeland and the honor and respect one has for that mother soil. I am in love with this music!!

I do have the CD with liner notes and translations, but I'm afraid if I look at the meaning of that song and it's about cleaning the poop out of the yak barn I'll be devastated!

I want to go see the guys again before they finish up their US tour, but they only have a few shows left near me and the weather isn't expected to be good. I'd really love to introduce my son to them and have him see how cool they are, but I'll have to see if the roads are good enough for the three hour drive!

Sum@y came back to visit on Saturday! I gave him a big hug and told him I missed him. I was so happy to see him. He's so freaking cute I can hardly stand it!!! I don't mean that in a pervy, old lady kinda way, 'cuz he is only 17 or maybe he's 18 now, but he's just too adorable for words. He was nice enough to let me stay in his room again for that night instead of kicking me out and making me sleep in Rum!'s room (which is a total disaster area).

We all went out to eat at the Japanese mall again on Saturday. I ordered some miso noodle soup and when it came it was HUGE! I could only eat a tiny bit of it. Sum@y ordered the same but with extra noodles. I swear, his soup was probably twice the size of mine and he ate it all! Tup@c got something from the Japanese Bistro and it was served with a near-raw egg. We both looked at it and make "yuckie" faces. LOL! I still love that little mall though. It's very chic!

Before our food came I ran outside and mailed a letter I had for Martin. For some reason I really wanted to send it from Boston. It was kinda like having him there with me or at least letting him know that I was thinking of him even while I was working. I'm thoughtful like that.

Martin and I talked again on the phone Monday. It was cool because this time I knew when he'd call so I was prepared. Not like last time when I hadn't talked to him in 20 years and then his surprise phone call came! I'm growing accustomed to his voice too. We were laughing about something and he did his snicker-laugh that I remembered so well... it made my heart go pitter-patter. I didn't tell him that, but I was smiling. I wish we could talk longer but there are time limits and we must abide by them. I haven't written him since the letter I mailed from Boston, so I should sit down and write him tonight. I did send him a Christmas card but that isn't really much. I also ordered him a few books that I am having sent to him for Christmas. Because he is an artist and I wanted to "introduce" him to my favorite artist, one of the books was on Salvador Dali. I'm sure he's heard of him but I wanted him to learn about him. Plus, eventually the book will be up here and I can steal it from him and add it to my Dali collection!!

I was hoping he'd call again last night, but he didn't. :-(

We have some big military company visiting at work this afternoon. They were just awarded a $75 million dollar contract and we want to get some of that money in our pockets!

Other than that small glimmer of hope... things are still looking pretty bleak. Our benefits have changed again and things are all messed up. We now have a company that is our "co-employer" too. What the hell is that?!? My work insists that we haven't been sold, but then how do we have a co-employer? In some of the papers we had to sign to keep our jobs it said that if such-and-such happens they will still pay us for however many hours we work, but only at minimum wage. Yeah.. some of these people are making $60 - $70 an hour... I can't image them being willing to work for $8 an hour.

Guess it's a good thing I'm going back to part-timing it at Walmart!

Alright, I've rambled enough. see what happens when I don't update for a long time!!

_______________________________________________


Alash!


Happy and a lil tired


As little snow as possible